Share This Page

Powered by CoalaWeb



Deprecated: Non-static method JApplicationSite::getMenu() should not be called statically, assuming $this from incompatible context in /home/theexecu/public_html/templates/gk_cloudhost/lib/framework/helper.layout.php on line 149

Deprecated: Non-static method JApplicationCms::getMenu() should not be called statically, assuming $this from incompatible context in /home/theexecu/public_html/libraries/cms/application/site.php on line 250

Paul Bugeja new MHRA President

Mr Paul Bugeja has been elected as the 19th  President of the Malta Hotels and Restaurants Associations (MHRA) following, as per the association’s  statute,  the  completion  of  two  years  Presidency  by  Mr Tony Zahra.

A chartered accountant by profession Mr Bugeja is the Chief Financial Officer and Head of Administration of the Corinthia Hotel International (CHI) Ltd.  He joined the Corinthia Group’s Tripoli Airport operations way back in 1979 and throughout these years he has held various senior positions within the Group and was instrumental in the setting up of the Swan Laundry, Air Catering Services and Jespers (the Danish) Bakery. In 1992 he was also deeply involved in the setting up of the Group’s Internal Audit Department where he was appointed as its first Director.   Recently Mr Bugeja was also appointed to head the Company’s Efficiency Unit. Ever since Corinthia initiated its international expansion programme some 25 years ago, Mr Bugeja has also played a crucial role in all new hotel pre-openings and take-overs and has throughout formed part of the senior support team.

Mr Bugeja has been an MHRA Council Member for the past two years during which time he was very active and chaired the Industry and Sustainability Action Group.   He also represented the Association on various fora, seminars and conferences.

Outgoing MHRA President Mr Tony Zahra stated that “Paul has the necessary qualities and competencies to be the standard-bearer of the tourism industry in Malta and enjoys the support of all the MHRA members.”
The newly elected MHRA Council 2014-2015 members include Tony Zahra, Senior Vice President; Matthew Pace, Vice President; George Micallef, Kevin Decesare, Julian Diacono, Michael Stivala, Rosie Grech, Isabella Debattista, Ben Muscat, Joseph Restall, Norbert Grixti, Malcolm Jones, Kyle Borg, and Stephen Sciberras.  Dr Hugh Peralta is secretary general and Andrew Agius Muscat is MHRA CEO.

Last modified onSunday, 02 March 2014 14:14

Contact us


+356 2010 7775